Legal Status of official English in Wyoming

Official English in Wyoming (1996)

§8-6-101. English as official language of Wyoming.

(a) English shall be designated as the official language of Wyoming. Except as otherwise provided by law, no state agency or political subdivision of the state shall be required to provide any documents,information, literature or other written materials in any language other than English.

(b) A state agency or political subdivision or its officers or employees may act in a language other than the English language for any of the following purposes:

  • (i) To provide information orally to individuals in the course of delivering services to the general public
  • (ii) To comply with federal law;
  • (iii) To protect the public health or safety;
  • (iv) To protect the rights of parties and witnesses in a civil or criminal action in a court or in an administrative proceeding;
  • (v) To provide instruction in foreign and Native American language courses;
  • (vi) To provide instruction designed to aid students with limited English proficiency so they can make a timely transition to use of the English language in the public schools;
  • (vii) To promote international commerce, trade or tourism;
  • (viii) To use terms of art or phrases from languages other than the English language in documents.


433,324 English
29,485 All languages other than English combined
18,606 Spanish or Spanish Creole
2,382 German
1,795 Other Native North American languages
1,618 French (incl. Patois, Cajun)
518 Japanese
512 Chinese
363 Italian
358 Scandinavian languages
347 Korean
340 Tagalog
238 Portuguese or Portuguese Creole
199 Polish
181 Greek
180 Navajo
172 Russian
142 Arabic
124 Gujarathi
103 African languages
99 Serbo-Croatian
58 Urdu
49 Vietnamese
46 Thai
44 Hindi
33 Hebrew
26 Hungarian
9 Laotian
6 French Creole
5 Armenian
0 Miao, Hmong
0 Yiddish
0 Persian
0 Mon-Khmer, Cambodian